Nigerian Football Clubs: List of Football Clubs in Nigeria (2024)

This is a complete list of all the football clubs in Nigeria. Although not all Nigerian Football clubs listed here play in the Nigerian Premier league, some play in the lower divisions.


Complete List of Football Clubs in Nigeria (2024)

  • Abia Comets
  • Abia Warriors F.C.
  • Abiola Babes
  • ABS F.C.
  • Abuja F.C.
  • ACB Lagos
  • Adamawa United F.C.
  • Akwa Starlets FC
  • Akwa United F.C.
  • Anambra Pillars F.C.
  • Anambra United F.C.
  • Apa United FC
  • Babanawa F.C.
  • Bayelsa United F.C.
  • BCC Lions
  • Bendel Insurance F.C.
  • Bridge Boys F.C.
  • Bussdor United F.C.
  • C.O.D United football club of Lagos
  • Calabar Rovers
  • City of David FC
  • Crown F.C.
  • Dalhatu United
  • Dolphins F.C. (Port Harcourt)
  • DSS FC
  • El-Kanemi Warriors
  • Enugu Rangers
  • Enyimba International F.C.
  • Esan F.C.
  • F.C. Ebedei
  • First Bank F.C.
  • Fountain FC
  • Gateway United F.C.
  • Giwa FC
  • Go Round F.C.
  • Gombe United F.C.
  • Heartland F.C
  • Ifeanyi Ubah F.C
  • Ikorodu United F.C.
  • Ilesa Dynamos F.C.
  • Jasper United
  • Jigawa Golden Stars F.C.
  • JUTH F.C.
  • Kaduna United F.C.
  • Kano Pillars F.C.
  • Kogi United
  • Kwara United F.C.
  • Leventis United
  • Lobi Stars F.C.
  • MFM FC
  • Mighty Jets F.C.
  • Mohammed Gambo
  • My People FC
  • NAF Rockets F.C.
  • Nasarawa United F.C.
  • Nembe City F.C.
  • NEPA Lagos
  • New Nigeria Bank F.C.
  • Niger Tornadoes F.C.
  • NITEL Vasco Da Gama F.C.
  • Ocean Boys F.C.
  • Plateau United F.C.
  • Prime F.C.
  • Racca Rovers
  • Ranchers Bees FC
  • Remo FC
  • Rising Stars F.C.
  • Rivers United F.C.
  • Sharks F.C.
  • Shooting Stars SC
  • Sokoto United
  • Spotlight F.C.
  • Stationery Stores F.C.
  • Sunshine Stars F.C.
  • Taraba F.C.
  • Udoji United F.C.
  • Union Bank F.C.
  • Warri Wolves F.C.
  • Westside F.C.
  • Wikki Tourists F.C.

Facts About Football Clubs in Nigeria

You should note that Nigerian football clubs are divided into 4 different divisions and stages, depending on their performances. The first division is the Nigeria Premier League also known as the 1st league. The second division is the Nigerian National League and it is also known as the 2nd league. The third division is the Nigeria Division 1 and it is also known as the 3rd League. The last one is the Nigeria Division 2 and it is also known as League 4.

About 19 different clubs make up the Nigerian Premier League, which is the First League, while 16 clubs make up the Nigeria National League also called league 2. Six clubs make up the 3rd League, which is Nigeria Division 1 while only 2 teams are found in the Nigeria Division 2.

Nigeria Premier League teams

The Nigeria Premier league was founded in 2003 and it is managed by the league management Company but sponsored by Globacom Telecommunication Company. Clubs in the league participate in a number of national competitions like the Nigeria FA cup and the Nigeria Super Cup. Aside these national competitions, they equally participate in a number of continental competitions, like the Champions League and the Confederation Cup. Clubs that make the first three slots in the Nigerian National League are fed into the Nigeria Premier league, while the last three clubs on the premier league table are relegated to the Nigeria National League.

Enugu Rangers is the current NPL champion for 2016. Both Enugu rangers and Enyimba International FC are the two most successful Nigerian Football clubs that have won the NPL title the most times. The 19 clubs that make up the Nigeria premier league are:

  • Kano pillars
  • Enyimba Aba
  • Warri Wolves
  • Giwa FC
  • Nasarawa United
  • Lobi Stars Makurdi
  • Abia Warriors
  • Enugu rangers International
  • Dolphins Port Harcourt
  • Heartland Owerri
  • Sunshine Stars Akure
  • Taraba FC
  • Port Harcourt Sharks
    El-Kanemi Warriors Maiduguri
  • Bayelsa United
  • Akwa United Uyo
  • Gombe United
  • Crown FC Ogbomoso
  • Kaduna United

Nigeria National League (Second Division)

The 16 clubs that make up the Nigeria National League are:

  • Abuja FC
  • Bendel Insurance
  • First bank Lagos
  • Gabros International Nnewi
  • Gateway United Abeokuta
  • Kwara United
  • MFM FC Lagos
  • Mighty Jets Jos
  • Niger Tornadoes Minna
  • Plateau United
  • Prime FC Oshogbo
  • Ranchers Bees Kaduna
  • Shooting Stars SC Ibadan
  • Stationary Stores Lagos
  • UniCem Rovers Calabar
  • Wikki Tourists Bauchi

The Nigeria Division 1 clubs

The Six football clubs that make up the Nigeria Division 1 clubs are:

  • Bussdor United Owerri
  • City of David United Lagos
  • Court of Appeal Abuja
  • Dynamite Force Benin City
  • FC Ebedei Ijebu Ode
  • Rising Star Akure

Nigeria Division 2 clubs (Lowest Division in the NPL)

The two clubs that make up the Nigeria Division 2 clubs are:

  • My People Lagos
  • Yerima Strikers

Nigeria Premier League ranking

The Nigeria premier league is one of the most exciting football leagues in the world. Although, clubs in the NPL are not yet there with professional European clubs like FC Barcelona, Manchester United, Bayern Munich FC, etc, they are fun to watch. If you want to know what makes the Nigeria Premier League special is the fact that it is extremely competitive as the club that wins the league in a particular season might not repeat the same feat the following season.

While Enyimba International FC won the NPL title Last season, this year, Enugu Rangers won the title with 36 matches played in every season in the NPL.

Enugu Rangers won with 63 points on the table while Rivers United FC came second on the NPL table. Wikki Tourist came third in the NPL campaign with 57 points. Fourth on the table is Ifeanyi Ubah football club, who earned 56 points. Below are the remaining ranking of Nigerian premier league teams.

  • Sunshine Stars football club
  • Lobi Star
  • Kano pillars
  • Both Plateau United
  • El Kanemi of Maiduguri
  • Enyimba FC
  • Nasarawa United
  • Heartland football club
  • Ikorodu United
  • Giwa FC with no point at all
join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply