Names of Senators in Nigeria And Their Constituencies (Updated, 2024)

Last updated on August 4th, 2023 at 08:19 pm

The senate is the upper chamber of the Nigerian National Assembly which has senators representing their different constituencies/districts. A senator by contrast is an elected member of the senate. The salary structure of senators in Nigeria has been convered in our previous posts, as it covers all allowances and their monthly pay. This subject of our write is listing the different senators in the country and their respective constituency with political affiliation.


Senators elected into the Nigerian Senate are grade as the highest legislature, of which their primary function is to make laws governing the country. There are 109 senators representing the different constituencies from the 36 states of Nigeria.

Each state is divided in 3 senatorial districts each electing one senator to total 108 senators, with the Federal Capital Territory having only one senator to complete the list of senators in the country. The leadership of the Nigerian Senate is headed by the Senate President and other elected leaders of the Senate. Currently, Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan of APC representing Yobe north constituency is the Senate President (since March 11, 2019).


Below is a comprehensive list of all Nigerian senators, their constituencies and political parties.

1 Enyinnaya Abaribe PDP Abia South
2 Theodore Ahamefule PDP Abia Central
3 Kalu Orji Uzor APC Abia North
4 Ishaku Elisha Cliff PDP Adamawa North
5 Yaroe Binos Dauda PDP Adamawa South
6 Dahiru Aishatu Ahmed APC Adamawa Central
7 Akpan Bassey Albert PDP Akwa Ibom North East
8 Christopher Stephen Ekpenyong PDP Akwa Ibom North West
9 Eyakenyi Akon Etim PDP Akwa Ibom South
10 Stella Oduah PDP Anambra North
11 Uche Lilian Ekwunife PDP Anambra Central
12 Ifeanyi Ubah YPP Anambra South
13 Lawal Gumau APC Bauchi South
14 Jika Dauda Halliru APC Bauchi Central
15 Bulkachuwa Adamu Muhammad APC Bauchi North
16 Degi Eremienyo Biobaraku Wangagra APC Bayelsa East
17 Diri Douye PDP Bayelsa Central
18 Ewhrudjakpo Lawrence PDP Bayelsa West
19 Gabriel Suswam PDP Benue North East
20 Emmanuel Yisa Orker-Jev PDP Benue North West
21 Patrick Abba Moro PDP Benue South
22 Kyari Abubakar Shaib APC Borno North
23 Kashim Shettima APC Borno Central
24 Ali Ndume APC Borno South
25 Oko Rose Okoji PDP Cross River North
26 Onor Sandy Ojang PDP Cross River Central
27 Gershom Bassey PDP Cross River South
28 Ovie Omo-Agege APC Delta Central
29 Peter Nwaoboshi PDP Delta North
30 James Ebiowou Manager PDP Delta South
31 Egwu Samuel Ominyi PDP Ebonyi North
32 Ogba Joseph Obinna PDP Ebonyi Central
33 Micheal Ama Nnachi PDP Ebonyi South
34 Ordia Akhimienmona Cliffford PDP Edo Central
35 Alimikhena Francis Asekhame APC Edo North
36 Urhoghide Matthew Aisagbonriodion PDP Edo South
37 Adetunmbi Olubunmi Ayodeji APC Ekiti North
38 Bamidele Micheal Opeyemi APC Ekiti Central
39 Adeyeye Clement Adedayo APC Ekiti South
40 Nnamani Chimaroke Ogbonnia PDP Enugu East
41 Ike Ekweremadu PDP Enugu West
42 Utazi Godfrey Chukwuka PDP Enugu North
43 Danjuma Goje APC Gombe Central
44 Amos Bulus Kilawangs APC Gombe South
45 Alkali Saidu Ahmed APC Gombe North
46 Onyewuchi Ezenwa Francis PDP Imo East
47 Rochas Okorocha APC Imo West
48 Benjamin Uwajumogu APC Imo North
49 Mohammed Sabo APC Jigawa South West
50 Hassan Ibrahim Hadeija APC Jigawa North East
51 Sankara Danladi Abdullahi APC Jigawa North West
52 Sani Uba PDP Kaduna Central
53 Kwari Suleiman Abdu APC Kaduna North
54 Laah Danjuma Tella APC Kaduna South
55 Ibrahim Shekarau APC Kano Central
56 Barau Jibrin APC Kano North
57 Gaya Ibrahim Kabiru APC Kano South
58 Babba Ahmad Kaita APC Katsina North
59 Mandiya Bello APC Katsina South
60 Abdullahi Kabir APC Katsina Central
61 Abdullahi Abubakar Yahaya APC Kebbi North
62 Adamu Mainasara Aliero Muhammad APC Kebbi Central
63 Na Allah Bala Ibn APC Kebbi South
64 Yakubu Oseni APC Kogi Central
65 Jibrin Isah APC Kogi East
66 Smart Adeyemi APC Kogi West
67 Umar Suleiman Sadiq APC Kwara North
68 Oloriegbe Yahaya Ibrahim APC Kwara Central
69 Ashiru Oyelola Yisa APC Kwara South
70 Remi Tinubu APC Lagos Central
71 Osinowo Sikiru Adebayo APC Lagos East
72 Adeola Solomon Olamilekan APC Lagos West
73 Akwashiki Godiya APC Nasarawa East
74 Abdullahi Adamu APC Nasarawa North
75 Tanko Al-Makura APC Nasarawa South
76 Mohammed Sani Musa APC Niger East
77 Abdullahi Aliyu Sabi APC Niger North
78 Bima Muhammad Enagi APC Niger South
79 Ibikunle Amosun APC Ogun Central
80 Mustapha Ramoni Olalekan APC Ogun East
81 Odebiyi Tolulope Akinremi APC Ogun West
82 Boroface Robert Ajayi APC Ondo North
83 Akinyelure Patrick Ayo PDP Ondo Central
84 Nicholas Tofowomo PDP Ondo South
85 Surajudeen Ajibola Basiru APC Osun Central
86 Fadahunsi Francis Adenigba PDP Osun East
87 Oriolowo Adelere Adeyemi APC Osun West
88 Folarin Teslim Kolawole APC Oyo Central
89 Buhari Abdulfatai APC Oyo North
90 Kola Ademola Balogun PDP Oyo South
91 Ignatius Datong Longjan APC Plateau South
92 Dimka Hezekiah Ayuba APC Plateau Central
93 Gyang Istifanus Dung PDP Plateau North
94 Thompson Sekibo PDP Rivers East
95 Mpigi Barinada PDP Rivers South East
96 Apiafi Jocelyn PDP Rivers West
97 Gobir Ibrahim Abdullahi APC Sokoto East
98 Aliyu Wamakko APC Sokoto North
99 Shehu Abubakar Tambuwal APC Sokoto South
100 Bwacha Emmanuel PDP Taraba South
101 Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf APC Taraba Central
102 Isa Shuaibu Lau PDP Taraba North
103 Gaidam Ibrahim Alhaji APC Yobe East
104 Ahmed Lawan APC Yobe North
105 Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed APC Yobe South
106 Ya’U Sahabi PDP Zamfara North
107 Mohammed Hassan PDP Zamfara Central
108 Lawali Hassan Anka PDP Zamfara West
109 Tanimu Philip Aduda PDP FCT

From the table above, it could be seen that from the available seats in the senate chamber, the ruling All Progressive Congress, APC occupies won 65 seats while the main opposition.

Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has 43 seats. Also, the Young Progressive Party (YPP) is the only party outside the two heavy-weights, having only a senator.

These are the current Nigerian Senators we have in Nigeria this 2024. Nonetheless, the list is subject to update as it presently reflect the current list of elected members of the Nigerian Senate.

Discover more from Nigerian Queries

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply