Full List of Kano State Colleges, Universities & Polytechnics

Kano state is one the most populous state in the country and its nicknamed “centre of commerce”. Aside being a commercial state, this state is also one of the most industrial states in the Nigeria and the most industrial in Northern region of the country. This state also houses a lot of educational institution ranging from colleges, polytechnics, universities and research institutions.

universities in Nigeria


Full List of Kano State Colleges, Universities & Polytechnics

This post lists all Kano State colleges and universities, polytechnics and their details. Kano state has a total of 4 universities out of which one if owned by the Federal Government, one is owned by private entities and the remaining two are state owned. In addition, Kano has a total of 12 colleges and polytechnics.

Bayero University Kano (BUK)

Bayero University Kano is a university located in Kano, Kano. It was founded in 1977, when it was renamed from Bayero University College and upgraded from university college to university.

BUK initially bore the name Ahmadu Bello College. Upon the establishment of Ahmadu Bello University in Zaria, Ahmadu Bello College was renamed to Abdullahi Bayero College, after Abdullahi Bayero, Emir of Kano.

This federal university has Faculties of Allied Health Sciences, Agriculture, Arts and Islamic Studies, Clinical Sciences, Education, Engineering, Law, Science, Earth and Environmental Studies, Pharmacy, Social, Management Science and the Faculty of Computer Science & Information Technology.

Kano State University Of Science & Technology (KUST)

Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil (KUST) is located in Wudil, a Local Government in Kano. This state university was created as Kano University of Technology” with the acronym KUT in 2001.

The school was renamed from Kano University of Technology, Wudil to Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil in the year 2005 in conformity to the Gazette laws of the University. KUST is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

This academic institution has 6 faculties name; Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (FAAT), Faculty of Sciences (FASSE), Faculty of Engineering (FAENG), Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences (FACMS), Faculty of Sciences and Technical Education (FASTE) and Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences (FAEES).

Maitama Sule University, Kano

Maitama Sule University is a very popular school in Kano state. Its also called the North-West University by many.

This university is a Kano State Government-owned university with a temporary campus located at the center of the city of Kano and a main campus located along Gwarzo Road.

It is one of the universities established in Nigeria in 2012. This academic institution was formed for promoting and enhancing the country’s-old prominence of the North-West as both cynosure and pacesetter in the fields of learning and scholarship.

Skyline University Nigeria (SUN)

Skyline University Nigeria is the first privately owned university in Kano. This university was founded in 2018.

Looking at the year of establishment, you know it is one of the youngest universities in the country and in fact, the youngest private university.

This university is a subsidiary of another university in the United Arab Emirate. It was established and offered provisional license by the National University Commission (NUC).

Federal College Of Education Kano

The origin of this college can be traced as far back as 1961. It started as Kano Men’s Training College. After about a year of it establishment, this college got its name changed from Kano Men’s Training College to Kano Teachers College.

In 1990, the federal government took over the college with the promulgation of Decree Number 4 of 1986. With this development, the name of the college once again and finally changes to its present name, The Federal College of Education, Kano.

The College has achieved autonomy in the running of the Pre-NCE, Remedial Certificate, Diploma and NCE Courses. The degree programmes are run in affiliation to A.B.U. Zaria.

Federal College Of Education (Technical) Bichi

Federal College of Education (Technical) Bichi with the acronym FCET Bichi is the second federal college of education located in Kano State.

This college of education is located at Federal College of Education (Techincal) Bichi, FCE Bichi Road, Bichi LGA, Kano State – Nigeria.

Federal College Of Agricultural Produce Technology, Kano

The Federal College of Agricultural Produce Technology, Kano is the training arm of the Nigerian Stored Produce Research Institute (NSPRI), a parastatal of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development.

The College started in 1975 as school of Food Storage Technology under the Kano sub-Station of the institute.

The school started with the training of staff of produce inspection division of states ministries of agriculture of the then Northern states in pest control and food chemistry. Later the training was expanded to include all aspects of food storage.

Kano State Polytechnic (KANOPOLY)

Kano State Polytechnic established in 1975 is a Nigerian tertiary institution located in Kano.

Kanopoly has five schools which are the School of Technology (SOT), School of Management Studies (SMS), School of Environmental Studies (SES), School of Rural Technology and Entrepreneurship Development (SORTED) and School of General Studies (SGS).

Audu Bako School Of Agriculture

The Audu Bako School of Agriculture is located in Dambatta, Kano State. This school awards diplomas in technical and vocational subjects for middle-level manpower.

In 2005, the college had 400 students. Established in 2002, the school is owned and operated by Kano state government. It is accredited to offer courses in agricultural and related technology, and a pre-ND course in Science and Technology. The school is named after Audu Bako, a former governor of the state.

In March 2006, it was among a number of polytechnics for which the National Board for Technical Education suspended admission of students for either failing to secure accreditation or running foul of the law though this had been resolved.

The school currently has only one faculty which is Faculty of Agriculture and has four programmes. These programmes include agricultural engineering/technology, agricultural technology, animal health and production technology and forestry technology.

Others Colleges In Kano State Include

The above are not the only colleges and polytechnics in Kano State. Others includes

  • Kano State School of Health Technology
  • Kano State School of Hygiene
  • Kano State College of Arts, Sciences and Remedial Studies
  • Rabi’u Musa Kwankwaso College of Advance and Remedial Studies
  • Aminu Kano College of Islamic and Legal Studies, Kano
  • Sa’adatu Rimi College of Education, Kano
  • Aminu Dabo School of Health Sciences and Technology
join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply