How To Get Driver License in New York (2023)
To get a driver’s license in New York has been made easy for both residents age’s 16 and above and even foreigners. You only just have to pass the road test, pay the necessary fee, and factor the type and class of drivers license you would need to ply the roads of New York to avoid being harassed or ticketed by the NYPD or traffic officers.
Be aware that before you schedule an appointment for your behind-the-wheel road test, you’re required by law to complete the mandatory 5-hour course online or in person if you are seeking a New York driver’s license. In this write-up, we show you how to get your driving permit easily.
REQUIREMENTS FOR GETTING A DRIVER’S LICENSE IN NEW YORK
Here are what’s required of you if you need your first driving license in New York state as a young adult.
STEP 1: PREPARE FOR THE WRITTEN TEST
Just as in many American states, it’s compulsory for all registered New York drivers to pass a written test to prove that they understand the basics of driving and the state’s traffic laws, offences and fines. Its best you study the official New York State Driver’s Handbook to prepare yourself, so as to stand a chance of passing the written test as a teen or foreigner.
Since many people, especially foreigners and teenagers don’t pass the New York drivers license test the first time they take it, we suggest you take a drivers license practice test which would give you an easy guide and practical way to study for your DMV exam with the needed confidence.
STEP 2: GET YOUR DOCUMENTS READY
There are certain documents that you would provide at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). These documents are used to verify your identity as a U.S citizen and as a New York resident. They include:
- Valid birth certificate.
- Social security card.
- Utility or tuition bill or income tax return.
- Any other additional document having your exact name on it.
Note that these documents must be original, having being approved and verified by the necessary agencies issuing such documents. It must also not be damaged or mutilated as it can be confiscated by the DMV. See the New York Document Guide for Standard License or Permit. Since NY operates a points system, it is wise to get the valid documents to earn more points in the system.
STEP 3: PAY THE NECESSARY FEE FOR YOUR LEARNER’S PERMIT AT THE DMV
All payments are to be made at the DMV where you will fill out the application. Fees to be paid depends on your age. It’s wise to check the official fee chart to know how much it would cost to get the New York driver’s license. Payment options include cash, personal check, or a credit card.
STEP 4: WRITE THE DMV PERMIT TEST
After payment, you’ll become eligible to take the written test at the Department of Motor Vehicle. Once you pass the exams, you’ll be issued with a temporary learner’s permit immediately while you might have to wait a while (some weeks) before you get your permanent driving license. To pass the DMV driving test, 14 questions must be answered correctly, which should include at least two of the four questions about road signs.
If you want to retake the DMV test, there is no additional charge, but you might need to book a reservation online in any of the counties affiliated with the much larger metro area to take your NYS permit test. Passing the test will ensure that your learner’s permit will be valid for 5 years. Although, to drive or cross into Mexico or Canada as a US citizen, you can also apply for an enhanced learner permit.
STEP 5: COMPLETE THE 5 HOUR MANDATORY PRE-LICENSING COURSE
As earlier stated, there is a five hour course that is compulsory for all NY state residents over 18 years and above to take. This course can be taken at any of the DMV accredited driving schools, colleges or even high schools. The aim of this 5-Hour Pre-Licensing Course is to equip the applicant on the rudiments of New York state traffic law. The online pre-licensing course is also a requirement by NYS to schedule your state road test.
The cost of the 5-Hour Pre-Licensing course in New York is $50 and it can be paid either by cash or check whenever you come to pick up your certificate.
STEP 6: LEARN DRIVING UNDER SUPERVISION
You’ll need to learn how to drive until you’re comfortable with your ability to control your car in a variety of situations. You must set aside time to do this because your learner’s permit only allows you to drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. There is no set minimum for practice hours until you turn 18 years old.
STEP 7: SCHEDULE ROAD TEST
To schedule your road test, you must make out time and place for your road test when you are prepared. You’ll require the following when you arrive:
- Having a learner’s permit.
- Your pre-licensing course completion certificate.
- A driver’s license showing you are at least 21 years old in age.
- A vehicle that has been properly registered and inspected to use for the test.
- If you wear glasses or contact lenses, you can also bring such.
If you are successful with the road test, you’ll immediately receive a temporary license. In a few weeks, your standard permanent license will be mailed to you. If you don’t pass, you get one free retake; however, if more retakes are required, there is an extra charge.
HOW MUCH DO THE NEW YORK ROAD TEST COST
The New York road test fee is $10, which covers the application fee for a driver’s license of up to two road tests for a non-commercial license. You must pay an additional $10 cost for up to two further road tests if you fail your first two attempts. If you decide not to take both tests, there is no refund.