Full List of Inspector General of Police in Nigeria (1964 – Date)

The highest rank in the Nigerian Police is the Inspector General of Police, abbreviated as IGP. He also doubles as the the head of the Nigeria Police Force in general.


Apart from being the most senior officer in the police service, the IGP receives the highest salary in the force. Before his appointment, he is recommended by the Nigeria Police Council to the President, who in turn, sends the name of the officer to the Senate for confirmation.


  1. Louis Edet (1964 – 1966)
  2. Kam Salem (1966 – 1974)
  3. Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu (1975 – 1979)
  4. Adamu Suleiman (1979 – 1981)
  5. Sunday Adewusi (1981 – 1983)
  6. Etim Inyang (1985 – 1986)
  7. Muhammadu Gambo Jimeta (1986 – 1990)
  8. Aliyu Attah (1990 – 1993)
  9. Ibrahim Coomassie (1993 – 1999)
  10. Musiliu Smith (1999 – 2002)
  11. Mustafa Adebayo Balogun (2002 – 2005)
  12. Sunday Ehindero (2005 – 2007)
  13. Mike Mbama Okiro (2007 – 2009)
  14. Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo (2009 – 2010)
  15. Hafiz Ringim (2010 – 2012)
  16. Mohammed Dikko Abubakar ( 2012 – 2014)
  17. Suleiman Abba (2014 – 2015)
  18. Solomon Arase (2015-2016)
  19. Ibrahim Idris Kpotum (2016-2019)
  20. Adamu Mohammed (2019 – 2021)
  21. Usman Alkali Baba (2021 – 2023)
  22. IGP Kayode Egbetokun (2023 – date)


The current office holder of the Inspector General of Police is IGP Kayode Egbetokun. He was appointed by President Tinubu in 2023 and currently heads the Nigerian Police Force at its Headquarters in Louis Edet House, Abuja.


The Nigerian Police (NP) is the main law enforcement agency in Nigeria  boasting a staff strength of about 371,800 officers. Although, there are plans to recruit more officers and increase the force to 650,000, the Federal government is yet to speak about it.

The NP has 36 state commands further divided into 12 zones and 7 administrative organs. The organization is currently headed by Adamu Mohammed since IGP Ibrahim Kpotun Idris retired recently.

The NPF now has 8-Departments, 8-DIGs, 17-Zonal Commands, 4-FCID Annexes.

The NPF maintains a three-tier administrative structure of departments, zonal and state commands.


Title Departments Responsibilities
Department of Finance and Administration Finance and Administration General administration and Finance
Department of Operations Operations Crime prevention, Public Order, Public Safety
Department of Logistics and Supply Logistics and Supply Works and Police Estate Management
Department of Criminal Investigation Force Criminal Investigation Department (FORCID) Investigation
Department of Training and Development Training Human resources
Department of Research and Planning Planning, Research and Development Statistics and Data
Department of Information Technology Information and communication technology Communication management

Before, the NPF was fully under the general operational and administrative control of the Inspector General (IGP) who was appointed by the president and directly responsible for the maintenance of law and order.

It was in March 1989, that the Babangida led administration abolished the Police Service Commission and established the Nigeria Police Council which was directly under presidential control.

In late 1986, the NPF was divided into seven area commands nationwide. Each command had a commissioner of police and was split further into police provinces and divisions under local officers.

The NPF headquarters was also an area command, supervised and coordinated the other area commands. The Area Commands were grouped under Zone Commands which included:

Zone 1, Headquartered Kano, with Kano, Kastina, and Jigawa Commands

Zone 2, Headquartered Lagos, with Lagos, and Ogun commands

Zone 3, Headquartered Yola, with Adamawa, and Gombe Commands

The three major Governmental Agencies that oversee the control and supervision of the Nigerian Police Force are; The Police Service Commission, the Nigerian Police Council and Ministry of interior.


Police ranks from highest to lowest include:

  • Inspector General (IG)
  • Deputy Inspector-General of Police (DIG)
  • Assistant Inspector-General of Police (AIG)
  • Commissioner of Police (CP)
  • Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP)
  • Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP)
  • Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP)
  • Superintendent of Police (SP)
  • Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP)
  • Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP)
  • Inspector of Police
  • Sergeant
  • Major Sergeant
  • Corporal
  • Constable
join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply