Contact Details of the United States of America Embassy in Nigeria

Do you want to travel to the United States and are looking for the U.S Embassy in Nigeria, then you are the right page. You should be aware that the United States of America currently has two mission offices in Nigeria that has different functions.

us embassy in Nigeria

History of the US Embassy in Nigeria

The American Embassy is as old as Nigeria herself as the U.S Embassy was established in Nigeria officially on 1st of March 1960. This highlighted the beginning of the Nigerian-American cooperation which was highlighted in a message from the Secretary of State Christian Herter.

The first American Ambassador to Nigeria Joseph Palmer was appointed 23rd of June, 1960 but waited till the inauguration day before full operation commenced. He presented his letter of appointment to the Head of State on the 4th of March 1960 which was three days after Nigeria’s independence.

The then President of the United States, Dwight D. Eisenhower also sent a message to the Prime Minister of Nigeria, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa that same March 1960 still highlighting the great ties between both countries.

For sake of history, we have compiled a list of the representatives of the American Government (i.e the ambassadors) from March 1960 till date

  1. Joseph Palmer: March 23, 1960 – March 16, 1964
  2. Elbert G. Mathews: March 10, 1964 – March 26, 1969
  3. William C. Trueheart: March 19, 1969 – March 1, 1971
  4. John Reinhardt: March 30, 1971 – March 23, 1975
  5. Donald B. Easum: March 26, 1975 – March 15, 1979
  6. Stephen Low: March 20 1979 – March 4, 1981
  7. Thomas R. Pickering: March 26, 1981 – March 9, 1983
  8. Thomas W.M Smith: March 10, 1984 – March 5, 1986
  9. Princeton Nathan Lyman: March 12. 1986 – March 24, 1989
  10. Lannon Walker: March 10, 1989 – March 10, 1992
  11. William Lacy Swing: March 15, 1992 – March 22, 1993
  12. Walter C. Carrington: March 10, 1993 – March 7, 1997
  13. William H Twaddell: March 10, 1997 – March 3, 2000

By 15th of March 2000, the US Embassy was later transferred to Abuja from Lagos. This ushered a new reign at the Embassy. Ambassador Howard Franklin Jeter was appointed on the 28th of March 28, 2000 to head the office at Lagos, until 30th June, 2003.

After him came Donald Steinberg who took charge until 2004. The following list of the ambassadorial appointments from 2004 till date is shown below:

  • John Campbell: 2004 – June, 2007
  • Robin Renee Sanders: March 3, 2007 – 2010
  • Terence P.McCulley: 2010 – 2013
  • James F. Entwistle: 2013 – 2016
  • Stuart Syminton: March 28, 2016 till date.

One is located in Abuja while the other is in Lagos. See contact details for US mission offices in Nigeria below:

Full Contact Details For American (US) Embassy In Nigeria

United States Consulate General, Lagos

2, Walter Carrington Crescent,

Victoria Island, Lagos.

Box 554, Marina, Lagos


For Inquires, call: 01-4603400, 4603600

U.S Embassy, Abuja Office

Embassy of the United States Of America,

Plot 1075, District Drive,

Central District Area, Abuja.

Email: or

For Inquires call: 09-461-4000

join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply