Full List of Airports in Nigeria (International, Domestic & Airstrips)

Airports in Nigeria are been operated by the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN). There are about 27 major airports in Nigeria classified as either international airports or domestic airports. Aside these two, there are also numerous airfields and airstrips scattered all over the country meant for either civilian or military use.


List of International Airports in Nigeria

International airports in Nigeria offers customs and immigration facilities for passengers travelling between countries. They are usually larger and possess longer runways and other facilities to accommodate heavier aircrafts used for international travel. Aside serving as international airports, these airports also provides domestic flight services. Nigerians airports that can be said to be international are 5 in number. These include:

1. Murtala Muhammed International Airport (Ikeja, Lagos)

2. Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport (Abuja)

3. Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport (Kano)

4. Port Harcourt International Airport (Port Harcourt, Rivers)

5. Akanu Ibiam International Airport (Enugu)

List of Domestic Airports in Nigeria

Unlike the international airports in Nigeria, the domestic airports in Nigeria handles only domestic flights and as such, are usually smaller featuring short runways sufficient enough to handle short or medium haul aircraft and regional air traffic.They are also known as local airports.

The Major domestic airports in Nigeria are listed below.

6. Magaret Ekpo International Airport (Calabar, Cross River)

7. Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Airport (Bauchi)

8. kaduna Airport (Kaduna)

9. Maiduguri International Airport (Maiduguri, Borno)

10. Sultan Saddik Abubakar Airport (Sokoto)

11. Yakubu Gowon Airport (Plateau, Jos)

12. Yola Airport (Yola, Adamawa)

13. Kebbi International Airport (Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi)

14. Asaba International Airport (Asaba, Delta)

15. Bauchi Airport (Bauchi)

16. Sam Mbakwe Airport (Owerri, Imo)

17. Gombe Lawanti International Airport (Gombe)

18. Minna Airport (Minna, Niger)

19. Katsina Airport (Katsina)

20. Akwa Ibom Airport (Uyo, Akwa Ibom)

21. Ibadan Airport (Ibadan, Oyo)

22. Jalingo Airport (Jalingo, Taraba)

23. Akure Aiport (Akure, Ondo)

24. Benin Airport (Benin, Edo)

25. Warri Airport (Warri, Delta)

26. Ilorin Airport (Ilorin, Kwara)

27. Makurdi Airport (Makurdi, Benue)

27. Zaria Airport (Zaria, Kaduna)

List of Airstrips In Nigeria

An airstrip is a small landing field usually having only one runway and basic facilities. On Nigeria, numerous airstrips exist, these includes;

1. Ajaokuta Airstrip in Kogi state

2. Azare Airstrip in Bauchi state

3. Bacita Airstrip in Kwara state

4. Bajoga Airstrip in Gombe state

5. Bebi Airstrip in Cross River state

6. Bida Airstrip in Niger state

7. Eket Airstrip in Akwa Ibom state

8. Escravos Airstrip in Delta state

9. Gusau Airstrip in Zamfara state

10. Nguru Airstrip in Yobe state

11. Potiskum Airstrip in Yobe

12. Shiroro Airstrip in Niger state

13. Tuga Airstrip in Kebbi state

As you can see from the list above, some airports in Nigeria added international to their names even though they are truly not international so, this shouldn’t confuse you. Is their any Airport not included in the list? You can notify us using the comment box below.

join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply