List of all APC State Governors in Nigeria (Updated, 2024)

We previously listed all 36 state governors in Nigeria. This post will specifically list all 20 APC State Governors currently in Nigeria.

Before we delve into the names of APC state governors in Nigeria, note that the APC won 19 states in the last general election which makes them the current ruling party in Nigeria while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 16 states.

The Nigerian constitution stipulates that “A person shall be eligible for the office of State Governor in Nigeria if he or she is a citizen of Nigeria by birth, or at least 35 years of age, and should be a member of a registered political party that is recognized by law of the land.

APC logo

A political party is a platform by which group people, who share the same ideology about the way a particular country should be governed come together to seize power during an election.

In Nigeria, there are currently more than 50 recognized registered political parties this 2024 according to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). APC, PDP, ANPP, KOWA, NNPP e.t.c are some of the major political parties in Nigeria.


The full meaning of APC is All Progressive Congress and its slogan is “CHANGE”. The current national caretaker chairman of the All Progressive Congress (APC) is Mai Mala Buni.

To wrestle and collect power from the then ruling party, The PDP, The Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) with its leader, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) leader Buhari, and the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), as well as a splinter group of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the new PDP, a faction of the then-ruling People’s Democratic Party, came together to form the party in March 2013. Tom Ikimi, speaking on behalf of the ACN, Senator Annie Okonkwo, speaking for the APGA, Ibrahim Shekarau, head of the ANPP merger committee, and Garba Shehu, head of the CPC merger committee, all signed the motion.

On March 31, 2013, the party got approval from the country’s Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to become a political party. Subsequently, the three parties that had merged revoked their functioning licenses (the ACN, CPC and ANPP). Two additional organizations, the African Peoples Congress and All Patriotic Citizens, applied to register with INEC in March 2013, using the acronym APC as well.


The constitution limits these Nigerian state governors to only two terms of four-year terms in office. Below is a compiled list of the 22 All Progressive Congress state governors in Nigeria and their deputies currently.


State Governor Deputy Governor Political Party
Benue Rev. Fr. Hyacinth Alia (new) APC
Borno Babagana Zulum Usman Durkwa APC
Cross River Bassey Otu (new) APC
Ekiti Kayode Fayemi Bisi Egbeyemi APC
Gombe Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya Charles Iliya APC
Imo Hope Uzodinma Placid Njoku APC
Jigawa Umar Namadi (new) APC
Kaduna Uba Sani (new) APC
Katsina Dikko Radda (new) APC
Kebbi Atiku Bagudu Samaila Yombe Dabai APC
Kogi Yahaya Bello Edward Onoja APC
Kwara AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq Kayode Alabi APC
Lagos Babajide Sanwo-Olu Obafemi Hamzat APC
Nasarawa Abdullahi Sule Emmanuel Akabe APC
Niger Mohammed Bago (new) APC
Ogun Dapo Abiodun Noimot Salako-Oyedele APC
Ondo Rotimi Akeredolu Lucky Aiyedatiwa APC
Sokoto Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto (new) APC
Yobe Mai Mala Buni Idi Barde Gubana APC
Ebonyi Francis Nwifuru (new) APC

From the above names of APC governors in Nigeria, Osun state was lost to the PDP, which has weakened the APC hold in the west. Ondo State also held elections which saw Rotimi Akeredolu of the All Progressives Congress win the election.

PDP are looking to recover more states during this just concluded election this 2024. The Labour Party under Peter Obi, one of Nigeria’s influential politicians, who vied for the office of the president, got one state, Abia.

As earlier stated, APC governors are more in number because they are the leading party that won majority of the governors seats in Nigeria. Obaseki of Edo state joined PDP after APC dumped him.

We’ve got the updated list of Governors elected in the 2023 elections which was held across states in country below.


24 of the 28 states that participated in last Saturday’s gubernatorial elections have declared their winners. The All Progressives Congress (APC) won in 15 states, including seven re-elections

  • Abba Kabir (Kano) NNPP
  • Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos) APC
  • Dapo Abiodun (Ogun) APC
  • AbdulRahman Abdulrazaq (Kwara) APC
  • Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe) APC
  • Mai Mala Muni (Yobe) APC
  • AbdulRahman Sule (Nasarawa) APC
  • Babagana Zulum (Borno) APC
  • Umar Namadi (Jigawa) APC
  • Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto (Sokoto) APC
  • Dikko Radda (Katsina) APC
  • Uba Sani (Kaduna) APC
  • Bassey Otu (Cross River) APC
  • Mohammed Bago (Niger) APC
  • Fr. Hyacinth Alia (Benue) APC
  • Francis Nwifuru (Ebonyi) APC
  • Seyi Makinde (Oyo) PDP
  • Bala Mohammed (Bauchi) PDP
  • Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom) PDP
  • Siminialayi Fubara (Rivers) PDP
  • Kefas Agbu (Taraba) PDP
  • Caleb Mutfwang (Plateau) PDP
  • Sheriff Oborevwori (Delta) PDP
  • Dauda Lawal (Zamfara) PDP

The elections were characterized by voter suppression, ethnic discrimination, political thuggery, and violent attacks on voters, electoral staff, and security forces.

While the election results in the states of Kebbi and Adamawa have been declared inconclusive, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced on Monday that the counting of votes in the states of Abia and Enugu would be halted to allow for a review of some results in certain areas of each state.

join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply