Full List of Registered Political Parties in Nigeria (2024)

Last updated on August 3rd, 2023 at 07:40 am

Registered Political Parties in Nigeria 2024


According to the body in charge of conducting election and registering political parties, Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Nigeria has 18 dully registered political parties and operate a multi-party system.

The popular ones are Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), which is currently the opposition party in Nigeria and the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC).

Below are the List Of Registered Political Parties in Nigeria

  1. Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) slogan is Power to the People while Uche secondus is the new party national chairman after the just concluded PDP convention.
  2. All Progressives Congress (APC) slogan is change while Adams Oshiomole is its current national chairman.
  3. Social Democratic Party (SDP)
  4. United Democratic Party (UDP)
  5. Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD) party national chairman is Ag. Peter Blavo.
  6. Accord (A) party chairman is Hon. Mohammad Lawal Nalado.
  7. Independent Democrats (ID)
  8. Alliance Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) current national chairman is Alh. Ganiyu O. Galadima.
  9. African Peoples Alliance (APA) acting chairman is EMMANUEL URHUARHOVIE (ACTING)
  10. All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) chairman is Dr. Victor Ikechukwu Oye.
  11. Citizens Popular Party (CPP)
  12. Action Alliance (AA) current party national chairman is Alhaji Mohammed Abubakar (Acting)
  13. Democratic Peoples Party (DPP)
  14. Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC)
  15. Alliance for Democracy (AD) national chairman is Chief Joseph Avazi
  16. Kowa Party (KP)
  17. Labour Party (LP)
  18. Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN)
  19. Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP)
  20. National Conscience Party (NCP)
  21. New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP)
  22. Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA)
  23. Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM)
  24. Fresh Democratic Party (FRESH)
  25. Hope Democratic Party (HDP)
  26. Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN)
  27. United Progressive Party (UPP)
  28. People For Democratic Change (PDC)
  29. African Democratic Congress (ADC) national chairman is Chief Ralph Okey Nwos
  30. Advanced People Democratic Alliance (APDA) slogan is “Stronger Together” and Shitu Mohammed Kabiru is the current chairman of the party

As said earlier, the current ruling party as of writing this post of registered political parties in Nigeria is the APC.

Just In: All names of Political Party Chairmen & Secretaries

May, 2024 Update:  INEC recognizes 18 political parties

Following an appraisal of the 92 political parties in Nigeria, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, validated only 18 political parties, including one registered after the elections and another that obtained a court order to avoid being deregistration.

This was said at a press conference in Abuja by Mahmood Yakubu, INEC Chairman, who announced that 18 political parties are now recognized by law.

He said the affected parties didn’t meet the requirements as provided for by section 225A of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

The conditions, according to the said section, include: “breach of any of the requirements for registration as a party, failure to win at least 25 percent of the votes cast in one state in a presidential election or 25 percent of the votes cast in one local government area, and failure to win at least one ward in a Chairmanship election, one seat in the national or state assembly election or one seat in a councilorship election.”

Below are the 18 registered political parties by INEC and their acronym as at May, 2024:

1. Accord Party – A
2. Action Alliance – AA
3. African Action Congress – AAC
4. African Democratic Congress – ADC
5. African Democratic Party – ADP
6. All Progressives Congress – APC
7. All Progressives Grand Alliance – APGA
8. Allied Peoples Movement – APM
9. Labour Party – LP
10. New Nigeria Peoples Party – NNPP
11. National Rescue Movement – NRM
12. Peoples Democratic Party – PDP
13. Peoples Redemption Party – PRP
14. Social Democratic Party – SDP
15. Young Progressive Party – YPP
16. Zenith Labour Party – ZLP
17. Action Peoples Party – APP
18. Boot Party – BT

Discover more from Nigerian Queries

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply