Political Structure/Hierarchy of The Nigerian Government

The government of Nigeria witnessed many structural changes in the few past decades in its political system. The country overcame a destabilization period because of political tumult aided by the military interference and many other political & social unavoidable circumstances. After this period the country has managed to survive and redefine kits comprehensive political system to aid the country’s political growth and development.


The current political system and political hierarchy in Nigeria is still inflicted with certain problems which may lead to political unrest. As per the constitution the political hierarchy in Nigeria must be bound together by a federal arrangement that includes different levels of government. The political hierarchy of Nigeria can be viewed as a presidential government system with various levels of vertical & horizontal hierarchy and different branches at each level.

The structure and hierarchy of the Nigerian government at various levels include:

Federal Government

On the top of the political hierarchy of Nigeria lies the federal government and if we look at the political setting of current day, this Federal Government is in charge of running the country as per the constitution highlighted system.

The Federal government gets subdivided into three branches at the next level of hierarchy – The Executive branch, the Legislative Branch and the Judicial branch.

  • Executive Branch

The executive branch of federal government comprises of the Vice President and the President of the country who are elected in a democratic manner. It also consists of the ministers called “The cabinet” which can be considered as the group of ministers where each minister is appointed to manage, oversee and head a specialized area of the country. It exists at both the levels – State & National level. For example – Agriculture, Foreign Affairs, Finance, Education, Aviation etc

  • Legislative Branch

The Legislative branch or the National Assembly is the branch that deals with the regulations and laws of the country. This branch is subdivided into two sections: the Senate and the House of Representatives.

The Senate is headed by a Senate President and it is the national assembly’s upper house for the framing & formations of laws &bills. The House of representatives is headed by the Speaker of the house and it is the national assembly’s lower house. The Speaker of the house is assisted by the Deputy Speaker of the House.

  • Judicial Branch

The major role of judicial branch is to ensure that the other two branches, that is, the executive branch and the legislative branch are not abusing their power. This branch is also responsible for executing, overseeing and implementing the legal system in the country.

State Government

After the Federal government, the next level in the political hierarchy of Nigeria is acquired by the state government. The state government also functions as the federal government in many respects like it is also subdivided into three branches – Executive branch, Legislative branch and the Judicial branch.

The executive branch is headed by the governor of the state while in the legislative branch state laws are formed & analyzed through the state house of representatives.

Local Government

This is the third level in the hierarchy of the Nigerian government that is more closest to the people at the grass root. It consists of the Local government chairmen, secretaries, Councillors e.t.c.

join us on telegram join our whatsapp channel

Oluchi Chukwu

Oluchi is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the editor of Nigerian Queries. She is a tech enthusiast who loves reading, writing and research

You may also like...

Leave a Reply